top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Myrtle and Me Designs

The incredibly talented Jocelyn from Myrtle & Me has arguably one of the prettiest Instagram feeds I've seen... so full of the beautiful colours of Tasmanian nature and, of course, her stunning sustainable jewellery range. If you've never seen her work, I cannot encourage you enough to do so. I'm in awe of her photography skills too and even have my eye on a certain Sassafras Pendant (perhaps as my next present to myself). Find out more about this fab Tassie handmaiden below:

Bamboo Pendant Necklaces by Myrtle & Me

When did Myrtle & Me begin and why?

I began my business in 2015. The reason for doing so was the desire to earn a living from doing what I love most, which is to be creative through the medium of photography. I spent many years thinking this was an impossible dream but did not give up.


In 2013 I began to realise the potential of handmade businesses to succeed and started to ponder how my photography could be incorporated into jewellery designs.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


Tasmanian nature is very close to my heart. My studies in environmental science and experiences in wilderness tourism helped me to understand different aspects of how unique and precious many of Tasmania’s wild places are in a global context. It’s home to many species of flora and fauna which are endemic to this island state, many of which are threatened by issues such as deforestation and mining.


Tasmanian nature is the subject matter for my designs because I want to share its beauty with people from all over the world. My intention is to bring joy into their lives as they remember how beautiful natural places can be. Through doing so, I hope that they remember the importance of protecting the wild areas that we have left.


My love for nature inspires me to design jewellery that is made from and packaged with as many sustainable materials as is possible. I use recycled silver and sustainably sourced bamboo in many of my pieces, which are all packaged using recycled boxes or tags.

Everlasting Daisy Earrings by Myrtle & Me

What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


My favourite thing about producing handmade products is the ability to earn a living through doing what I love. Whilst this can feel overwhelming and stressful at times, the overall sense of freedom that comes from being my own boss is like nothing I have ever experienced before.


You can see more of Jocelyn's work by checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds too.

bottom of page