top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Aleisa Byfield - Ceramic Artisan

My love for pottery and ceramics just knows no bounds at the moment... and thankfully there are so many talented artisans, like Aleisa Byfield, to keep my love fires burning. Her pieces are exquisitely earthy (I just LOVE her stackable bowl and plate sets, like this one). I had the chance to find out more about this clever lady, which you can read all about below:


Plates by Aleisa Byfield

When did your handmade business begin and why?

I officially started my ceramics business in early 2016 as I had spent the last couple of years learning and experimenting at my local Craft Centre where there weren’t any ceramic classes but members all shared their knowledge and experience with one another. Inspired by the fragile, seductive and receptive nature of clay, I have immersed myself in furthering my knowledge and relishing in the endless possibilities of ceramics, particularly for self exploration and expression. I am a passionate volunteer, worker and assistant trainer in Crisis Support so my business provides a therapeutic outlet to help me deal with such challenging, but rewarding, experiences.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


I am predominately self taught and largely find inspiration in Asian traditions and in the diversity and unpredictability of the textures, patterns and colours of the natural environment. I see beauty in the flaws, scars and imperfections that are often overlooked and regularly collect discarded objects that may be incorporated into my pieces. I enjoy the freedom of using a variety of clays and have a relentless curiosity with experimentation and testing the limits. So sometimes new creations are born from ‘happy accidents’!


Jewellery by Aleisa Byfield

What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


It really is a heartwarming and wonderful feeling to receive photos and appreciation from people using and enjoying my creations – I love how something that I do can bring joy into someone’s life. I also feel its important to support other makers who put their energy, heart and soul into creating and sharing their products with the world so I am very mindful of dedicating time to appreciate their special talents. Just like us, every handmade piece is unique and just as special as the next one!


You can see lots of Aleisa's work by checking out her Instagram feed.

bottom of page