top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Vintage Lamps & Unique Shades (VLUS)

Unique is the word. The fabulously retro style of this week's blog collaborator, Vintage Lamps & Unique Shades, is definitely unique. The creator behind it all, La Shay, has an eye for colour, pattern and texture plus the range of hoop wall art and lamps is extensive to say the least. I had to learn more about this fabulous Queensland based business and you can read what I found out below.


Lamp Shade vby V_L_U_S

When did VLUS begin and why?

I began in 2008 just before I had my 1st baby. It started purely from a love of lamps and the effect they have on a room, as well as a complete obsession with vintage fabrics. I taught myself how to make and cover shades (my first few were terrible!).


My collection of vintage fabrics & vintage lamp bases were getting out of hand so my husband (whose an electrician) encouraged me to take the leap and start making lamps to sell. It was the perfect time to start as I was home with my little one.


Although slow at first, VLUS has gradually gained momentum throughout the years. Recently in late 2016, I started my 'Hoop Art Range' to make the most of my gorgeous fabrics. Support of amazing local business and word of mouth have really helped get my lamps out there.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


Inspiration for me comes from all around. The unexpected colour combinations of fabrics, clothing and wallpaper from the past and how they really work, plus the texture and patterns in fabrics of today. Not to mention fashion, ceramics, pottery, art, wooden lamp bases, plants, flowers, retro / scandi furniture... list goes on.


What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


My favourite thing about hand made is being able to create, reuse and re-love whilst being at home (although our house is bursting at the seems). I still get a buzz with each and every lamp I put together and turn on for the first time.


I love finding combinations of hoops to work together in a cluster and to compliment a lamp. It's really humbling to think someone would like to put one of my pieces in their space and I'm really grateful for that.

Hoop Art by V_L_U_S

You can see more of La Shay's work by checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds.

bottom of page