top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Country Designs

Any and all accessories are the name of the game for New Zealander, Nadia, and her business, Country Designs. From pots to pendants, scarves to scented candles, bows to beautiful dresses... all bases are covered and oh so affordable with her fantastic range. I've had the chance to chat to her about handmade and her business below.


Cement Planters - $25 each

When did Country Designs begin and why?

My Business started in Feb 2016 when I started making clothes for my then 1yr old. I had always enjoying making things and my Mother-In-Law had bought me a sewing machine in 2010. I hadn't really used it much so that's when it all started.


I started as Pukeko Designs, as I am from Timaru NZ, but no one could remember my name. So a year later I changed to Country Designs and, at that point, things really took off.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


My 11yr old helps me a lot by giving me ideas and helping me select my fabric. Often she is threading elastic in my sock covers or dresses or looking after my new baby (who is only 4 months old). I am really lucky to have such an amazing helper.


What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


I get such a buzz seeing strangers wearing my things or using them in props. Country Designs wouldn't be what we are today if it wasn't for all our amazing customers. I would like to say a massive thank to you all for allowing me to be a stay at home mum and also a successful business woman.


A collection of Country Designs wares

You can see more of Nadia's amazing pieces by checking out her Instagram or Facebook feeds and Website.

bottom of page