top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Fat Brian Ceramics

Don't be distracted by the name (which was inspired by a cat named Fat Brian), this Melbourne based ceramic designer is amazingly talented. The creator at Fat Brian Ceramics, Katie, kindly shared with me recently what inspires her unique ceramic art and how her love of clay began. Come and meet her...


Handthrown Pots by Fat Brian Ceramics

When did Fat Brian Ceramics begin and why?

I have loved clay and making sculptures since I was at school but I had never been shown how to throw on a wheel until I picked up a piece of clay almost 20 years later! I had always dreamed of throwing on a potters wheel and even used to say that if I won the lotto I'd open my own ceramic shop and have my wheel in there.


I started working with clay 2 years ago and I just love the magic that happens in the firing process as well as using a functional piece that I've made. I really enjoy using handmade pieces.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


I love both nature and abstract form in art so I suppose a little part of me comes through that. I see my abstract form more through my sculpture though, where I tend to focus on the female form... I think that's influenced by my background as a midwife.


What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


Just being able to use something which has had so much love, time and care put into it makes something very cherished and special.


Handthrown Plates by Fat Brian Ceramics

You can see more of Katie's amazing pieces by checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds.

bottom of page