top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

This Side Of Me (TSOM)

Another wonderful Australian clay accessories designer has emerged in the last few months, the lovely Nadia from This Side Of Me (also known as TSOM). Hand-crafted in Melbourne and with locally inspired designs (such as the beautiful Yarra necklace), this handmaiden will certainly be going places.

Rocky Clay Necklaces

When did Tsom begin and why?

TSOM is still a baby. It was born on 22 October 2016 when I had my first market stall ever and sold a necklace and earrings set to my first paying customer. It was a very strange, unusual feeling, that someone loved my creation enough to pay money.


I played with various crafts probably all my life. I tried polymer clay not so long ago and I was hooked. I find working with polymer clay very meditative and it is such a versatile medium. There are so many possibilities, sometimes it is hard to stop.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


...accidents and the process of making. These probably are the two major ways I come up with new ideas. All of my favorite designs were born in the process of making or were a result of an accidental discovery or an attempt to solve a problem.


I can say that my biggest inspiration in the process itself with its trials and errors. I sit down with some vague idea and somehow, sometime later I have this new design I am totally in love with and my head is buzzing with possible variations and other things to try.


What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


The best thing about being a jewellery maker is that you don’t have to look for that perfect piece of jewellery, you can just make it. I love creating beautiful things and it is an amazing feeling when other people like my creations too.


Since I’ve started selling at the markets I buy a lot more handmade items myself. I like their uniqueness, character and story. The nature of handmade is that no item is the same and isn’t it fascinating to think that something you’re wearing or decorate your home with is in fact the only one in the world!!!


Drop Necklace

You can shop her amazing pieces by clicking on the pictures above or checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds. She is also at various Melbourne markets, check her Instagram feed for all the details.

bottom of page