top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Jax & Co.

The happiest of my recent discoveries on Instagram has to be the South Australian handmaiden behind Jax & Co. and her sensationally unique resin and wood creations. They are truly mesmerising, every single piece is finished with precision and I, for one, am hooked. Here is a little more about this new handmade business from it's creator, Jax.

Rectangular Pendant Necklace

When did Jax & Co. begin and why?

I launched Jax and Co. in September 2016. I wasn't intending on starting anything really; I desperately needed to use the creative/designer side of me again after having two children. So when I could steal some time I'd go into the studio (shed) and get dirty.


The result was a product which I knew was different. It immediately caused reactions and built it's own interest until all of a sudden I was launching a jewellery range, starting a website and gaining stockists. The last 6 months has been a very organic, yet crazy ride.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


I am very colour orientated but It's really all about the wood. I love each stage of the process from choosing the wood and making the right cut, casting it, then finally making the decision on how best to shape it to bring out it's best feature - be it it's colour, grain or edge detail.


After shaping - I polish and polish (I don't enjoy that part)! We are very lucky in Australia to have such amazing natural resources and I am extra lucky to have access to the most beautiful sustainably-sourced Mallee at my fingertips.


What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


I love the process and what I personally gain from production. It's dirty working with both wood and resin but it's extremely rewarding. Each piece is in my hands for well over an hour. Art can be quite isolating at times - locked away doing long hours (a bit like motherhood) - but when someone sees my work and is excited by it, a connection is made.


I get a real sense of accomplishment - I produced that. That connection breaks away at the isolation and helps me push through the long hours. And to know my work is making someone out there strut their stuff a little more than usual is pretty special.


Teardrop Pendant Necklaces

You can shop her amazing pieces by clicking on the pictures above or check out her Instagram and Facebook pages too.

bottom of page