top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Little Gem Handmade

This handmade jewellery collection is one of my most recent Instagram handmade finds... the use of natural fibres and gemstones immediately caught my eye and I quickly ordered earrings for myself. I was so intrigued by the creator's vision, I took the time to find out more about her business below.


When did Little Gem Handmade begin and why?

​Little Gem Handmade began in 2015 at my home studio in South Gippsland, Victoria. I didn't plan for my creative path to fall into jewellery making but I'm glad it did! I started creating pieces for myself before the flow on to receiving requests, attending markets, opening online stores and finding stockists. I believe creativity is balancing, so making it a more significant part of my life has been very rewarding.


Eco-Resin Earrings

Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


Inspiration is everywhere! For me, ideas can be triggered by colours, shapes and texture. I have a strong focus on using natural materials like semi-precious gemstones, sustainable wood, fine authentic leather, cotton, silk and environmentally friendly eco-resin. Sometimes the raw materials themselves are inspiring and making time to draw or experiment while surrounded by supplies can result in new combinations and designs.


Necklace

What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


"Little Gem Handmade likes the idea of no two pieces being exactly the same. This is the beauty of handmade - it's real, it has personality and was created by me." This is a statement I've carried with me since the very beginning. It encapsulates what I love about handmade and this community of makers. Shopping small and supporting local is something I really value.

You can shop her beautiful designs by clicking on the pictures above or check out her Instagram feed.

bottom of page