top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Rarehare Designs

I've patiently waited to find out more about our latest featured handmaiden, Rachel from Rarehare Designs in the beautiful Adelaide Hills. Not only because her pieces are stunning but mostly because I love how she sources, re-designs and re-purposes aluminium, laminate flooring, computer parts and the like into unique and affordable accessories... how seriously clever is that...!!! I can't wait for you to meet her.


Upcycled Laminate Droplet Necklace ($34)

When did your work begin and why?

I have made and sold my jewellery since I was about 11 years old. It started in year 7 when I used to make little brooches from polymer clay and sell them in my local craft shop. I also made small paintings which incorporated up-cycled Easter egg wrappers and snake fridge magnets made from felt and up-cycled can tabs. (It's embarrassing but at the same time very sweet that my mum still has some of those snake magnets on her fridge. A little cringe moment whenever I visit her!)


I used to help run craft lessons in the same (Stirling, Adelaide Hills) shop whilst at High School, so I think having my own business has always been in my blood and brewing away in the background! After high school I went on to University and studied for a Bachelor of Design, major in Jewellery and Metal Smithing. I started selling work that I'd designed and made way back then (we're talking 20 years +) and a shop that has stocked my work since my University days is Urban Cow Studio in Adelaide. (Thank you Mick 😘)


Rarehare Designs begun when I fell pregnant with my first son and returned from living overseas. I thought "it's now or never" to start my own business and to see if I could make a living doing what I love. I was very conscious of growing the business around my family and being there for my children first and foremost. It's worked, and 9 years on I'm still here.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


I draw my inspiration from recycling, up-cycling and being resourceful. From materials that I see destined to landfill and I think to myself "how can I use | incorporate that material into my designs so that it doesn't look like that original material?" That's the trick, that's the challenge, and I love it! I'm restricted in some ways by using predominantly up-cycled materials, but that just pushes me to think further "outside the box" and to be even more creative. I'm also inspired by nature. Having grown up living in the Adelaide Hills I think I'm spoiled for choice and inspiration with my surroundings.


Upcycled Pendant Necklace (POA)

What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


I'm creating unique pieces | gifts that cannot be made in a factory. Different creations that you can't find in every shop in every city. A hard to find item. A huge amount of thought, effort and me goes into each piece of my work. Something made by hand has a story, a history behind it; it directly affects the maker, their family, their community and nothing can compare to that.


You can see more of Rachel's work by checking out her Instagram feed too.

bottom of page