top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Gracie Keal

Whether you choose from the many ready-made dolls on offer, or order a custom made doll, Cian from Gracie Keal's creations are sure to impress. Lovingly handmade, often recycled and always gorgeous, her designs and handiwork are like something from a Jim Henson movie. You'll adore them all and so will your little ones...

Gracie Keal Dolls

When did your work begin and why?

Gracie Keal was founded just over a year ago. After studying Printed Textile Design at Falmouth University in the UK I'd spent 4 years looking for the right pathway. I'd worked in print studios and for designers but had never been happy with the way the industry was run with so much waste and careless design due to an overwhelming amount of competition.


In 2016 I spent 6 weeks back in the UK finding some head space and deciding what I was going to do and that's when I discovered Gracie Keal. I guess as a reaction to what I'd experienced previously in the Textile Industry I decided I wanted to create a product that was giving, ethical and made people smile. Gracie Keal dolls do exactly that.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


My designs are all from children's drawings. I gather those witty little moments like odd legs, little stick arms and long spidery eyelashes and create soft creatures that are unique but strangely familiar at the same time.

Its always been a real focus for me too that my products have a purpose beyond just being irresistibly cute. I didn't want to make just another toy, I wanted to send a message. All Gracie Keal dolls are handmade by myself from recycled materials and stuffed with a recycled PET fibre made from recycled plastic bottles. Every child that receives one will hopefully learn a little about sustainability and see that beautiful things can be saved and made from 'throw aways' with a little creativity and imagination.

Gracie Keal Doll

What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


Everyone says the same here; the process. I suppose the process is the only reason we do hand make things. After formally studying within the parameters of a course, its a real pleasure to hone in on a skill that you're genuinely interested in and learn the intricacies of it. My craft is a fairly humble one too. Sewing and doll making have been done throughout history by predominantly women, both rich and poor. I suppose I find this idea rather romantic too. I like the idea that despite there being infinite alternate ways for me to make, I still choose to do it how the women before me would have.


You can see more of Cian's work by checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds too.

bottom of page