top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Plain Jane & Co.

Meet Plain Jane & Co... whether you want plain, small, large, dangles, spotty, stripey, a bit twisted or bursting with glitter, Melbourne-Based Mel Sheehy has designed a style of earring for you. Plain Jane & Co. was brought to life to dress every ear with the vision of encouraging the unique, the individual and the left of centre. The question is, which Jane will you choose?

Sticky Janes $25

When did your work begin and why?

Plain Jane & Co launched in Jan 2017, I had been making handmade polymer clay earrings for about 12 months and decided to sell on Etsy to move some stock that I had been making as a hobby for friends and family. I started my Etsy store in Jan '17 during my recovery after a routine shoulder reconstruction went pear shaped, making and updating my store gave me purpose and sparked a drive to get up each day which was a struggle due to my condition and I wasn't able to go back to work.


After a few sales trickled in, the feedback was wonderful, my following started to grow and I decided to take the Janes and the business more seriously and put all my time and effort into the business, I currently work full time form home and love every second of it.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


I'm inspired by so many things!! I've always been an accessories addict but never could quite find anything that suited my ever changing dress sense/mood. I love spots which is very evident in most of my collections and really love to have fun with basic colour ways. I wanted to create earrings that were a little left of centre but still functional and fun to wear for all occasions.


What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


All of the Janes are made in small batches, hand rolled without the use of moulds or stencils. I love that every pair will have slight variations and quirks making them individual to the owner. The odd fingerprint also sneaks through on the clay, a small reminder that my hands made these for your enjoyment.

Spotty Janes $12

You can see more of Mel's work by checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds too.

bottom of page