top of page
Search Blog by Tag
No tags yet.

Heidi Helyard

I can't believe I've only just discovered the incredible work of Heidi Helyard, a Central Coast Fibre Artist and Graphic Designer of immense talent. Her work is quite simply MESMERISING!!! Her recent collaboration with another of our blog features, Jax and Co., put her on my radar and I just couldn't wait to find out more about her fantastic creativity and colourful artwork. Read all about it below:


Fibre Artwork Pendant Necklace

When did your work begin and why?

I’ve been working for myself for the past 14 years as a graphic designer. I’ve always been a maker though, and after doing a weaving course in late 2016, and when I started to drown in weavings, I opened my Etsy store.


Where do you draw your inspiration for your products from?


Since opening my online store, I’ve progressed from creating weavings, to making unique perspex framed ‘fibre paintings’ and associated items (key rings and necklaces) to also creating items made out of polymer clay, featuring stitched details.


I get inspiration from everywhere! From the birds that visit me on my verandah, to my kid’s drawings, to artworks in books and galleries, to other makers I follow online. I am careful not to ‘copy’ other people’s work, but be inspired by a colour, a shape or technique and then make that inspiration my own.


Fibre Artwork Perspex Keyring

What is your favourite thing about producing handmade products?


I just love making. I have to keep my hands busy! I love creating something brand new then exploring that new thing in different colours, creating new products etc. My most favourite part is when people love your work enough to part with money to own it. It’s the ultimate thrill!


You can see more of Heidi's work by checking out her Instagram and Facebook feeds too.

bottom of page